Youth Scholarship

The SPAH Youth Scholarship brings young harmonica players to the SPAH convention, perhaps for their first time! Funded by donations to the William Rosebush Youth Fund

Each year, the SPAH Youth Committee makes several awards to suitable applicants to attend the annual SPAH convention. Awards will cover rooming costs at the SPAH convention hotel for the nights of Tuesday through Saturday and will include convention registration for each award recipient.

Applicants must be 21 years old or younger. Each award recipient will be expected to perform at the convention and will be required to contribute some of his or her time to support SPAH Youth activities at the convention. This will include selling raffle tickets for prizes at the Saturday night banquet and show, or staffing the Youth information table. 

Harmonica players interested in applying should download and complete the application form. Applicants must also submit a sample of their playing along with the application. Priority will be given to applicants who have not been selected previously, but all applicants are welcome!

Applications should be submitted by email to by May 15. Recipients of the SPAH Youth Scholarship will be selected by the SPAH Youth Committee and notified by June 1.

Carson Diersing (Blues)
Connor Frontera (Blues)
Kaleena Hutchins (Bluegrass, Gospel)
Janalyn Miklas (Chromatic Harmonica Soloist)
Norman Patton (Harmonica Trio)
Brandon Bailey (Neo-Soul)
Justin Gates (Blues)
Garrison Hagler (Harmonica Trio)
Justine Missik (Blues)
Alex Windmeyer (Classic Harmonica)
Nic Clark (Blues)
Jarred Goldweber (Blues, Funk)
Jake Houshmand (Jug Band, Blues)
Julian Perricone (Classical, Bluegrass)
Aaron Pomeranz (Hip-hop, Blues)
Michael Acker (Video Game Inspired)
Jude Dow-Hygelund (Classical, Jazz, Latin)
Kiersi Joli (Blues, Gospel, Country)
Jack Pawlakos (Blues, Jazz)
Lydia VanderVate (Classical, Folk, Gospel)
Jered Anderson (Country, Blues)
Cole Ford (Blues, Rap)
Matthew Givens (Soulful, Gospel, Blues)
Cole Moran (Bluegrass, Americana, Country)
Erik Patton (Harmonica Trio, Contemporary)
Matthew Givens (Soulful, Gospel, Blues)
Jonas Grandinger (Country, Blues)
Matthew Henderson (Blues, Rock, Jazz)
Ashay Kumar (Hindustani Classical)
Neil Nayyar (Jazz, Bollywood, Chinese)
Alex Windmeyer (All Harmonicas, Trio Music)
Titus Giernacky (Gospel, Blues, Country)
Leland Isbill (Blues, Country, Rock)
Kiersi Joli (Blues, Country Gospel)
Cole Moran (Americana, Bluegrass)
Ben Perry (Irish, Blues)
Luke Anthony Pease (Neo-Soul, Jazz, Progressive)